Youth Friendly MP Award Campaign 2018

The members of Parliament will always stay with the youth and support them for establishing all
youth rights including health and equality.  This aims to ensure meaningful participation of young people representing different demographic groups in the national discourse of the implementation of Sustainable Development Goals (SGDs) and by October 2018, the needs and issues and voices of marginalized youth in Bangladesh especially those most vulnerable to HIV, and affected by Sexual Reproductive Health and Rights (SRHR) policies are addressed through the ongoing government process in implementation of SGDs 3 and 5 and creating spaces for youths on government delegations to ensure a meaningful participation of youths in framing and acting on youth friendly SRHR programs in Bangladesh.

These meeting were intended to focus ‘No one is left behind’ and prioritizing inclusiveness of young people from diverse demographic groups. It shall also advocate engaging the government with CSOs working on SRHR and SDGs implementation to receive proper inputs so that it could frame policy recommendations for Young People at the global negotiation forums. As planned, this meeting brought together youth and civil society leaders from different members of Parliament alongside health rights advocates to collect endorsements on the  Dhaka Youth Call to Action and the basement of RHRN Long Term Outcomes. SERAC-Bangladesh honored with a Youth Friendly MP award at the same occasion.

These meeting were held at Bangladesh National Parliament premises in Dhaka with 23 members of parliament, listed as,

  • Md. Israfil Alam MP, Noagoang-4
  • Sabiha Nahar Begum, seat 49
  • Shahanara Begum, seat 48
  • Kamrun Nahar Chowdury, seat 38
  • Hosne Ara Begum, seat 37
  • Sabina Akter Tuhin, seat 36
  • Amina Ahmed seat 35
  • Sanjida Khanam, seat 24
  • Pinu Khan, seat 23
  • Mahjabeen Khaled, seat 18
  • Umme Kulsum Smrity, seat 4
  • Kujendra Lal Tripura, Khagrachhari,
  • Abdul Matin Khasru, Comilla 5
  • A. K. M. Bahauddin, Comilla 6
  • Mujibur Rahman Chowdhury, faridpur 4
  • M. A. Maleque, Dhaka 20
  • S M Jaglul Hayder, Sathkhira 4
  • Tipu Sultan, Barishal
  • Chhabi Biswas, Netrokona 1
  • Habibur Rahman Mollah, Dhaka 5
  • Nurunnobi CHowdhury Shawon, Bhola 3

The organizers of the SERAC event gave this award discussed about youth concerns and demands around health rights. With the response, MPs also shared their views and furthering supports to youth led initiatives and also admired young generation’s creativity, energetic actions. They also encouraged the team by promising future supports to any actions about health rights and youth.

About the Author

Leave a Reply


captcha *